Piece of my Heart

“And think not you can direct the course of love, for love, if it finds you worthy, directs your course.” Khalil Gibran, The Prophet

Sometimes, when I am sitting with my beloved animals, I am reminded of this quote by Gibran. Love which I found in them, I rejoice in. I am humbled that love found me worthy.And it has directed my course.I have found my calling.To help and love those animals who have been abandoned cruelly, who cannot speak of the terror and pain they go through.

I want to tell the story of my “”Jigar ka Tukda”, named after a woman I adore. Janis Joplin. Her so fabulous ”Piece of my heart”,which is the name of my precious baby.She is an English Bull Dog, today around 4 yrs old.

One day on my weekly visit  to the local shelter I support,I came across this terrified bull dog girl. She was sore and bleeding. She sat meekly in a corner and I could see people looking at her pityingly, but not really going near her. I was feeding boiled eggs to some of my ‘regular” dogs and as I looked at her, I could see a wistful expression on the bulldog’s face. Her expression said ”I wish that crazy woman in the Led Zeppelin T-Shirt and strangely crying, would give me an egg”,I went upto her.The smell was terrible. I offered an egg and she took it almost shyly. Almost as if embarrassed  to come near me  because she was so ugly..Image

My heart broke. I cried that any human could be this cruel! An English bull dog is a prized breed. And this poor baby was obviously a pet of the elite class. Now cruelly dumped because she was sick and suffering. Dumped like trash without a backward glance, I was told by the shelter staff.

I brought her home without a second thought. Nobody should live a life of indignity. And this is what this poor dog, for no fault of hers, was being forced too.An overcrowded shelter, despite its best intentions, couldn’t really devote the time that was needed for her to recover.

Then started a long , almost 3 months, of bringing out the loveliness and spirit in her. Starting with calling her ‘Jigar ka Tukda” because she truly became a ”Piece of my heart”. Medicated baths, home cooked meals, long walks and lots of pampering and love started to turn around the damage and neglect Jigar had suffered I drove my vet mad with my endless questions and queries.I researched on the Internet like a maniac. I realized that a bulldog needs specialized care. Since the breed is not very popular in India, I became member on Facebook Bull Dog pages. I got great advice from everyone there and also have made enduring friendships with fellow animal lovers. Something I thank Zuckerberg for!

Jigar today functions as Ms Bossy Pants! I am relentlessly bullied by this miserable, beloved K9! Sometimes she stops on her walk and I am forced to carry her.People look at me pityingly as I huff and puff while Ms Jigar sits nonchalantly in my arms. .Image

 

 She loves lingerie too. I am supposed to buy her Victoria’s Secret stuff. Jeez!

She steals my pizza. She snores. She snorts and farts horribly.She also thinks she is the K9 Kate Moss and  thus thinks nothing of plonking her considerable bulk on me. She of course sleeps on my bed.

Image

 John Grogan , in ”Marley & Me” says “”A dog has no use for fancy cars, big homes, or designer clothes. A water logged stick will do just fine. A dog doesn’t care if you’re rich or poor, clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give him your heart and he’ll give you his. How many people can you say that about? How many people can make you feel rare and pure and special? How many people can make you feel extraordinary?”  True that. Jigar makes me feel special!

I hope anyone reading this post will consider adopting an abandoned and suffering animal.

I sign off with a gift for all of you http://youtu.be/iJb7cBfrxbo 🙂

18 thoughts on “Piece of my Heart

  1. .A modern day fairy tale. A beautiful compassionate princess embraces a sick and miserable creature transforming her into a gorgeous brat! What would life be without such magic: dull incomplete mundane pathetic? Thank God for Apu and her magical tribe!!!

  2. dear aparajita,no animalantrian/humintarian homilies for me..you are a good person and you have found a better disguised human..want to share this ..of course with approval

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

