Lost Pleasures

Well, its 1.30 PM here. Lunch time. My cook told me this morning that he has packed ”paneer bhurji” (  that is cottage cheese scramble:the best translation I can think of!), ”moongh dal”(  that is lentil soup: Arrrgh…its not really soup, but I don’t know how to explain ‘dal’ ?Its so Indian..), and ”chapati” (that is  err  bread..Indian bread : I give up!).

All in all , this is a lunch I quite like on a working day. I wish I could have a  double cheese pizza and a huge glass of chocolate milk shake Auto suggestion : Don’t day dream & ramble.That’s detrimental to successful blogging. 😦

Well, ok I like everything except the ”chapati”, which is wrapped in an aluminum foil. Sometimes its like a roll or otherwise a rectangle or triangle. Depends on the geometric sensibilities  of my cook .Whatever the packing design, I cringe every time I open it. The ‘chapati’ looks so sad and lonely. Somehow shorn off its identity. I guess you are wondering at my pretty strong pathos ? See pic below,pleaseimages

Well, a ”Chapati needs to look like this. Hot ,full and comforting! ( Jeez, I may have a serious flair for writing in the erm ah men’s magazines?) But, those are the only words which come to my mind…because, a ”chapati” needs to be eaten hot, be puffed up ( Ahoy Pamela Anderson!) and that’s comforting because its what we ate as children, teenagers, young adults etc etc. That’s the way Ma made  them.That’s the way the cooks of a bygone era made them.And most importantly, our parents had the time to come home for lunch during the lunch hour. Not like today, when we leave our homes by probably 8.30/9 am to return at 8.30/9pm. Blame it on work style, idiotic bosses,traffic etc. End result?Damages to the self.Plus collateral damages to relationships, I guess.

So we have to make do with limpy wimpy ‘chapatis” for lunch and when we reach home, the ”chapatis” have been made and kept in the casserole by the cook or maid! In case, any of you working women make hot ‘chapatis’ for dinner, I prostrate  myself on the ground and offer my humble salutations.In case, any of you have a maid or cook that makes hot ‘chapatis” for dinner, DO NOT SPEAK ABOUT HIM/HER TO ANYONE.They will be poached!!

But seriously, its time for me to quote Eliot:“The endless cycle of idea and action,
Endless invention, endless experiment,
Brings knowledge of motion, but not of stillness;
Knowledge of speech, but not of silence;
Knowledge of words, and ignorance of the Word.
All our knowledge brings us nearer to our ignorance,
All our ignorance brings us nearer to death,
But nearness to death no nearer to God.
Where is the Life we have lost in living?
Where is the wisdom we have lost in knowledge?
Where is the knowledge we have lost in information?
The cycles of Heaven in twenty centuries
Bring us farther from God and nearer to the Dust.”

Just a humble ”chapati”, but it signifies to me all that we have lost in becoming ”modern”?

Over and Out , fellas 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lost Pleasures

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

