I am a Dessertarian

I keep telling my guy, my utterly beloved Shams,that his alpha maleness is  decidedly hotter because he has a sweet tooth 🙂 There is something incredibly appealing about this as it does tend to reveal a softer and tender side  to him 🙂 I of course am as Bill Waterson, of Calvin & Hobbes fame, says ” I am not a vegetarian! I am a dessertarian”. I don’t have a sweet tooth but sweet teeth 🙂

So as I blog, I remember my guy ,after eating a huge chunk of one of our favorite sweets.Its an Indian delicacy which is made or available in the sweet shops only in the  festive months of July and August, coinciding with the festivals of ”Teej” (http://hinduism.about.com/od/festivalsholidays/a/Teej.htm ) and ‘Rakshabandhan”  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raksha_Bandhan ).

This  sweet dish is called ‘Ghewar’. Originally considered to be a delicacy from the state of Rajasthan, this has gained popularity all across Northern India today.

Malai-Ghevar-665x490

( Photo from the Internet :http://www.mapsofindia.com/my-india/food/malai-ghevarhttp://www.mapsofindia.com/my-india/food/malai-ghevar )

  I have never made ‘Ghewar’, much as I love cooking.There are many recipes on the Internet and many that have shared with me by friends and food enthusiasts. But I prefer to buy it from the shops, which  have a choice  besides the plain ‘ghewar”. Interesting  added twists of malai  (cream) mawa ( dry fruits)), khoya ( condensed milk) , kesar ( saffron) etc.

To tell you the truth, I have never eaten ‘ghewar’ from Rajasthan too. My favorite is ‘malai & kesar ghewar” from a sweet shop in New Delhi , called ‘Hira Sweets” in Laxminagar (http://www.hirasweets.com/our-menu.html ).   Its a  typical  “desi mithai” shop ( traditional sweet shop) with  continuously bubbling ghee in the frying pan, typical chaotic  mess associated with such shops,  uncaring and harassed-snarling- servers. But  you really can’t complain  because  the taste is awesome. So truly fantastic  that the non-existent service and  spine chilling atmosphere of customer disdain is not worth getting agitated about 🙂

‘Ghewar’ of course is laden with calories.Jeez!But then, Erma Bombeck warns “Seize the moment. Remember all those women on the ‘Titanic’ who waved off the dessert cart.” 🙂

So, I asked my guy , a lil coyly ‘Am as I sweet as ‘Ghewar” ?

He replied ‘ Baby, you are not dessert. You are the main course “.

*Winks* and 😀

 

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

