The Crescent Moon In A Black Sky

So in one of those chilled out parties, you are totally in the zone. Beautifully crazy friends,  insane laughter,  music, soul food, the clink of wine glasses,a crescent moon, wind that caresses your hair, candles and scent of lavender. And you receive a text. You smile and leave everybody and everything in an instant. The text tone is customized and special. Like him 🙂

‘What is he like? What is he like ? ” That’s the clamor of someone in the crowd of friends who hasn’t met him.

He is glorious.All the way from the top of his head to his little toe.He wears only white Armani shirts and smells like sea wind. There is a madness in his blue-green eyes in which I am reflected. And when I run my fingers through his dark mane, I laugh at how that proud head bows.

I asked him to bring  me flowers. He gave my Ma roses, instead.Told  that he is thankful to her for me.My Dad likes him. My dogs love him.My sister and he chat for hours

When it rains, he plays ‘ Captain Beefheart’ and draws up the chess board. He beats me hollow at the game and when I cry he tells me fiercely that there is no room for mercy in any war. That I should be a warrior and fight back  anybody that stands in my way.

I once asked him if he found me beautiful. He smiled and said no. But that I was perfectly imperfect and imperfectly perfect.

He feeds me pasta with his fingers and paints my toes.And sulks when I get lost in my world of books.Then he becomes incommunicado for a while. I let him be. Till I bake a cake for him with ‘ My Heathcliff” written on it and a pink heart. Things are back to normal except the embarrassingly mushy nicknames he bestows on me which I hate.

I recited Tagore to him ;”He it is, the innermost one,who awakens my being with his deep hidden touches.He it is who puts his enchantment upon these eyes and joyfully plays on the chords of my heart,in varied cadence of pleasure and pain.
He it is who weaves the web of this maya,in evanescent hues of gold and silver, blue and green,and lets peep out through the folds his feet,at whose touch I forget myself.Days come and ages pass,and it is ever he who moves my heart in many a name,in many a guise, in many a rapture of joy and of sorrow“. He listened gravely and politely told me to leave the room because he was watching the 2014  FIFA World Cup.

Sometimes when I wait for Skype to re-connect , I am reminded of Momin’s words “Tum mere paas hote ho goya/ Jab koi doosra nahi hota”.  This translates to:You are close to me [as if]When no one else is.This couplet’s beauty is in its succinctness and multiple layers of meaning. One of the meanings is When you’re with me(on my mind), no-one else is and a second meaning/interpretation is You are with me (on my side), when no-one else is. ( Source: Wikipedia)

Customized and Special,yeah ? Is he not ? 🙂

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

