Of Facebook Friendship & Jimmy Page

Say what guys, I think its pretty fashionable these days to thumb your nose down at ‘Facebook’. I have come across people who shrug their shoulders disdainfully and mouth ” Who has the time for Facebook ,yaar ?” Perhaps, I maybe wrong, but I think majority of them are lying. We are social animals and this is just another platform for everyone to interact.I always have this wee niggling doubt that the stronger the protest, the deeper the addiction And in all probability, FB haters are the secret voyeurs!

On the other hand, I quite love Facebook. Its truly an insight into peoples’ minds. There are many FB pals who I know in real life.While some are their selves online, most have these masks which make me hysterical with laughter ๐Ÿ˜€ So everybody is like ‘rocking’, ‘awesome’, ‘swell’ ‘living its up ” etc and not actually lotus eating. Take a look at this picture which I had posted on FB sometime back. I imagined that the man’s status update could have been ” Guys, me rocking! What an incredible ass”. This must haveย  created major heartburn amongst all his male friends,non ? ๐Ÿ˜€

Funny-Pakistani-Images-Studying-on-Laptop-pics_f_improf_600x451

Well, I do hate the losers and posers on FB. 1.The ones who only want to have an inbox conversation with you.(Whatever you gotta say, say it on my wall man!) 2.The husband and wives who declare undying love for each other publicly.ย  And yeah,Zuckerberg needs to be nominated for a Nobel because heย  has actually turnedย  married couples into friends ๐Ÿ˜€ 3.The ones who post terrifyingly huge albums of thisย  supposedly grand holiday they had. The photos sometimes include abstract concepts like a horse’s tail or arse, theย  ‘common’ man ( Example:ย  “Loved the train platform chai”. The chai wallah is multitasking..he is handing over the chai glass & scratching his nether regions.Wow, sure makes my day ),shots of the sky, clouds, sea, sunset, snow etc etc which look terrifyingly same and mundane, making me think I really need to do LSD.

But enough! I need to tell you why I love Facebook ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, I can get away with talking to interesting people and not really meeting them. I am sort of a very private person and don’t like to meet many people. This saves me the bother ofย  making tea/coffee, rustling up snacks etc for such people at home. In India, its a crime if tea & snacks are not offered.Which is all very irritating I must say!

Seriously though, I have come across some truly wonderful people on Facebook. Staying continents apart, I get this enormously happy feeling when I interact with gifted people,kind people,people who do so much for animals,fellow Led Zeppelin lovers, fellow bookworms…and simply just GENUINE people ๐Ÿ™‚ My life has been enriched by these interactions, yeah!

One such Facebook friend of mine is Vivek Nyayapathi. Initially, his father , a senior bureaucrat, was my FB friend. Over the course of our virtual friendship, he told me that I reminded him of his elder son, Vivek and that we should become friends. We did ๐Ÿ™‚ And I am so glad! A hugely talented young man, I was impressed with the way he views life. Of his love for animals.Of his choice in music. I remember updatingย  my status as :’ Cobain & Nutella @ Midnite”.He was the only person in my entire FB list who understood the tremendous awesomeness of this ๐Ÿ™‚ And when I found out that he had named his dog ‘Bonzo’ after John Bonham, the legendary Led Zeppelin drummer, I knew this young man will go a long way in life ๐Ÿ™‚

See the sketch below. Its done by Vivek.Its of Jimmy Page. Look how he has managed to depict each feature , each nuance of the divine Mr Page. Yeah, ‘The Pout Remains The Same’! Vivek does these brilliant sketches and is a real cool guy to know. He can be reached at :1. https://vivek-nyayapathi.squarespace.com/ 2.www.nrv@gmail.com 3.https://www.facebook.com/vivek.nyayapathi

10706576_10152280629135881_1593291905_n

Good luck, my young friend! Keep rocking ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Of Facebook Friendship & Jimmy Page

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

