Dance with Abandon

In  all over India today,its festivities of hope , joy and triumph of good over evil. Its the 10th day of Durga Puja and the Goddess Durga kills the demon to reign supreme.Today is  Bijoya Dashmi and Dusherra!  And as I do every year, I offer this prayer to my patron Goddess Ma Durga..for I am named after her 🙂  Its by Guru Gobind Singh ji and is a beautiful prayer that seeks to instill courage ,strength in oneself . I am a Hindu by birth. Many would find it little surprising that I am quoting a Guru of the Sikh religion. But then , all religions are the same.It is we who discriminate and divide! So Rumi says “Let the beauty we love be what we do. There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground” 🙂

“Deh siva bar mohe eh-hey subh karman te kabhu na taro.

Na daro arr seo jab jaye laro nischey kar apni jeet karo.
Arr Sikh ho apne he mann ko, eh laalach hou gun tau ucharo.
Jab aav ki audh nidan bane att he rann me tabh joojh maro.”

देह शिवा बर मोहे ईहे, शुभ कर्मन ते कभुं न टरूं
न डरौं अरि सौं जब जाय लड़ौं, निश्चय कर अपनी जीत करौं,
अरु सिख हों आपने ही मन कौ इह लालच हउ गुन तउ उचरों,
जब आव की अउध निदान बनै अति ही रन मै तब जूझ मरों ॥२३१॥

Translation

O Shiva, grant me the boon of spiritual and physical strength that I may ovecome fear and conduct myself to commit myself to justice and good deeds

Here the word “Shiva” may be taken to mean Lord Shiva by some Hindus and Sikhs but many orthodox Sikhs consider this to be incorrect. Orthodox Sikh tradition and the Advaitic Hindu schools of thought use the terms Shiva, Hari, Rama etc. to mean a nirguna, formless sense of meaning of the one Lord Almighty.

The physical body (deh) is analogous to Siva’s (Akal Purakh )superpowers, therefore I should not fear when committing myself to good deeds.
That I shall not fear when I go into combat. And with determination I will be victorious.
That I may teach myself this creed alone, to speak only of Thy (allmighty lord Waheguru) praises.
And when the last days of my life come, I may die in the might of the battlefield ( Source: Wikipedia)

And yes..I am with the people who love me un-conditionally 🙂 Its time for dancing with abandon and joy like this http://youtu.be/V55qmXK2iUs . Rumi smiles at me once again and says “Dance, when you’re broken open. Dance, if you’ve torn the bandage off. Dance in the middle of the fighting. Dance in your blood. Dance when you’re perfectly free”.

Be Blessed and listen to Led Zeppelin 😀

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

