Painted Desert Serenades

Ummmm…. no Saturday Night Fever ( sic). The accidental sufi is being good 😀

 Was re-reading  ‘the Little Prince’, a book I go back to many times. It is said that the fox’s messages  capture the essence of the book and in a way the essence of human relationships. While I agree with this entirely,some of my favorite messages from the book ( “The Little Prince”,Antoine de Saint-Exupéry ) are:

“I have always loved the desert. One sits down on a desert sand dune, sees nothing, hears nothing. Yet through the silence something throbs, and gleams….{ My interpretation:Totally cliched,but silence is actually very eloquent.Of unspoken words.Of speaking of everything ,but remaining silent on the words that matter, because they are not meant to be said or  heard. Only felt.)

“Where are the people?” resumed the little prince at last. “It’s a little lonely in the desert…” “It is lonely when you’re among people, too,” said the snake. ( My interpretation: The loneliness in a crowd. The loneliness of a  person aching in one place alone/aching for someone else as they go through the motions of socially approved living. So  D.H.Lawrence says in ‘Lady Chatterley’s Lover”Perhaps only people who are capable of real togetherness have that look of being alone in the universe. The others have a certain stickiness, they stick to the mass“)

‘What makes the desert beautiful’, said the little Prince, is that ‘somewhere it hides a well….” ( My interpretation: The classic message from the fairytale of ‘Beauty and the Beast”. When she tells the Beast “Among mankind..there are many that deserve the name ( Beast) more than you..but I prefer you as just you are,to those , who under a human form hide a treacherous, corrupt and ungrateful  heart.”.  Or I would interpret it in the words of Andrea Gibson about damaged people . She says ” I know you think this world is too dark to even dream in color,
but I’ve seen flowers bloom at midnight.
I’ve seen kites fly in gray skies
and they were real close to looking like the sunrise,
and sometime it takes the most wounded wings
the most broken things
to notice how strong the breeze is,
how precious the flight.”  

Ummm…I texted my Shams sometime back “Think of me and then the  desert .What do you see ?”

He totally  Rumi-fied and annihilated me with his reply 😀 This is what he pinged back :”For without you, I swear, the town
Has become like a prison to me.
Distraction and the mountain
And the desert, all I desire  ( The Joy that wounds:The love poems of Rumi)

Did I tell you guys, that I love the Shams  not for the way he dances with my angels, but for the way the sound of his name  silences my demons ? 🙂

 Past midnight here. Need to brew  Darjeeling tea.Ooooh spooky….Radio FM plays this http://youtu.be/C3lWwBslWqg

2 thoughts on “Painted Desert Serenades

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

