All About A Handbag

Well, on Friday I had gone during the lunch break at work  to Khan market. I really had nothing planned. I mean, no meeting a friend there, no eating out ,no  serious shopping.  That’s what I normally do in Khan market 🙂 .It was just that Delhi weather has become awesome, with that lovely nip in the air flirting with the sunshine! And Khan market is just the place to hangout in this weather. It bustles with  beautiful and stylish people. The shops are very trendy and up-market. The bookshops are quaint. The cafes and bistros are elegant.The foreign tourists are happy…’Slumdog Millionaire’ is forgotten 🙂

I was walking past the ‘Da Milano’ shop. Handbags are a huge weakness. I wavered. Hamlet like. To go ( in) or not to go ( in)? Whether it’s nobler in the mind to suffer? Masochism is not really my thing. So Alice dropped into the rabbit hole:) The salesgirl looked pretty anthropomorphic too. A pretty, thin ( now you understand my rage 😀 ) ,cunning little vixen with the honeyed tones of a ‘koel’. She zeroed in on  my handbag lust ,  cooed soothingly as she  slyly nudged me towards the latest collection.

I was trapped. I longed to escape. I needed freedom.

Aah. Deliverance.  Yeah. “Deliverance is not for me in renunciation. I feel the embrace of freedom in a thousand bonds of delight.”  Tagore, I love you.

I bought this 🙂

milano  milano 5  milano 1  milano 2

Apologies for the photographs. They have been clicked with my mobile phone. Alright, confession time. I am an absolutely rotten photographer 😀

This is a tote bag. Its not  dead white as it seems in the pictures.But a very beautiful, smoky ivory shade. It very spacious and has a number of conveniently designed inner pockets, which are totally necessary for me.My handbag tends to  house  essentials which would possibly  comfortably sail me through a war zone 😀 There is one  un-zipped pocket on the rear, probably designed to hold the mobile phone. I shall use it to store my psychological anchor. Yeah, a lil packet of those orange, hard boiled candy. I pop one in and homicidal thoughts about my boss and colleagues,my rabidly lecherous neighbor,thin people,my ex,people who love to exercise and love oats etc etc disappear. These candies.Look at pic below.

orange-candy-250x250

Why did I choose this bag?  There were scores of fabulous bags! I mean  a discerning, modern woman -of-substance could have  had these multiple climaxes, I swear. That great a collection! But, alright. The price. Moderately expensive at Rs 11,000/-.  Well within my impulsive  shopping budget quota. Though, I  had briefly toyed with the idea of picking up a divine bag in aqua and silver, nastily priced at Rs 29,000/- on my Dad’s credit card of which I am lovingly an add on.

But the reason why I fell in love with the bag? It reminded me  strangely of a Chanel great. The Chanel GST ( Grand Shopping Tote). Perhaps, it was  the self design on leather ?As the  double golden chain slings for handles? As the uber style quotient ?

No , the real reason. As something Coco Chanel would approve of me  buying? And smiling at me as she said ““A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous.”  Or perhaps “In order to be irreplaceacle, one must always be different.”  🙂

I  love Coco Chanel and her story and  stories about her. From a girl who lived in an orphanage and  taught to sew by nuns, she rose to become one of the most influential women of the twentieth century. A woman who famously refused the marriage proposal of  the wealthy Duke of Westminster with “There have been several Duchesses of Westminster—but there is only one Chanel!” and continued to have a decade long relationship with him. Read about this utterly fabulous woman here : http://www.biography.com/people/coco-chanel-9244165#synopsis

And somewhere, her words, resonates in/within the accidental sufi. She says ” It’s probably not just by chance that I’m alone. It would be very hard for a man to live with me, unless he’s terribly strong. And if he’s stronger than I, I’m the one who can’t live with him. … I’m neither smart nor stupid, but I don’t think I’m a run-of-the-mill person. I’ve been in business without being a businesswoman, I’ve loved without being a woman made only for love. The two men I’ve loved, I think, will remember me, on earth or in heaven, because men always remember a woman who caused them concern and uneasiness. I’ve done my best, in regard to people and to life, without precepts, but with a taste for justice”

Time to say au revoir, guys. And I shall play a song for you. Its haunting and lovely. By a talented group of musicians from Pakistan. Oh Jeez, I just remembered the delicious visit of the beautiful Pakistan Foreign Minister in 2011.And especially the national interest in her  Birkin hand bag 😀  http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/hina-rabbani-s-birkin-and-more-make-headlines-122514

The song :http://youtu.be/dPAqQI_kOng

Peace & love 🙂

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

