Unbroken

( Disclaimer: This blogpost is to be read  with earlier ones : ( A)  ‘Piece of my Heart’ May20th, 2014.( B) ‘Bruce Almighty: The Dark Knight Rises’,June 8th, 2014. ( C) ” My Jill, My beloved & My 4am friend” August 22nd, 2014.( D) ” Wabi- Sabi Your Life”,October 24th, 2014. ( E).”Sputnik Sweetheart” October 28th ,2014.Just so that you know about my beloved rescued dogs.

When I suffered a terrible car crash years back, a very strange incident had  taken place at home, just at the time the vehicle went hurtling off the road. My pet calf ,called Sita, who had grown into a lovely, ebon black cow, suddenly collapsed on the ground and died. Everyone was shocked and mystified because she was a young creature and in the best of health.Three hours later my family received a call stating that I wouldn’t probably make it . So great were my injuries.It was a New Year’s eve morning.No parents should ever hear such a statement…that their child is dying.I can never imagine what must have gone through my parents’ hearts.But my sister told me, later, that my Ma had  steadied herself and said simply and strongly.”Nothing will happen to her.Her Sita took it upon herself”.

Nothing did ,actually. I came out of that terrible ordeal, unbroken.

I have always believed that my animals protect me from any kind of harm. They watch over me with their beautiful unconditional love.With all their strength and purity.Time and again I have been proved right, sometimes much to my distress.Just as this time when the accidental sufi battled a terrible personal crisis, yet again. As I fought back ,my little Golden Cocker spaniel girl, Ashlee Aishwaraiya, fell mysteriously ill.She just lay down one morning, ten days back, and started bleeding through her nose.She refused to eat and drink.It was frightening to see  what she suffered.The vet couldn’t diagnose the sudden cause for internal hemorrhage. He administered a saline drip because she  was dehydrated completely and going into shock.

I spoke to her on the telephone then.( she is, for a short time with my sister in my hometown). Telling her not to die on me. That we had both found each other.That we had both rescued each other.That she can’t abandon me. That she should give me strength.That I will fight back.

My sister told me that Ashlee got up after she heard my voice.She was very, very weak.But she went to her water bowl and drank a few sips.Minutes later, she ate two glucose biscuits.

This dog of mine had suffered unspeakable brutality and abuse. Yet, she had emerged from it victorious because of her spirit, her will power. Teaching me that “there is a brokenness out of which comes the unbroken. There is a shatteredness out of which blooms the unshatterable. There is a sorrow beyond all grief, which leads to joy. And a fragility out of whose depths emerges strength. There is a hollow space too vast for words through which we pass with each loss, out of whose darkness we are sanctioned into being“ ( Rashani)

Each of my rescued dogs teach me bravery,resilience and strength. What Camus says “In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer” 🙂 My rescued and adopted dogs were all special needs K9: 1.Jill, a three legged Boxer girl. 2. Jigar, an English bulldog girl, with terrible mange & skin disorder.3.Ashlee,a blind Golden Cocker Spaniel girl 4.Bruce Wayne, a  paralyzed miniature black pug boy.5.Layla,a starved and beaten Great Dane girl.

Appeal: Christmas is around the corner. A New Year too.To anyone reading this blog, please adopt an animal from a shelter.Please do not buy a puppy,kitten etc…when so many beautiful animals are languishing in shelters.Please donate.Please help in any little way you can.PLEASE!

And  what words shall  I tell you ? 🙂 To never get used to the unspeakable violence and the vulgar disparity of life around you.To pursue beauty to its lair.”( Arundhati Roy)

And what song shall I play for you ? 🙂 http://youtu.be/DhlPAj38rHc

2 thoughts on “Unbroken

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

