Faith Can Move Mountains

Well, I watched ” Exodus:Gods & Kings” and came away feeling real good. The movie has all the cinematic strengths of a great  Ridley Scott movie. It is an interpretation of the exodus of the Hebrews from Egypt as led by Moses and related in the Book of Exodus.Its poignant because its dedciated to Scott’s younger brother Tony Scott, who committed suicide in 2012.When Tony Scott died in August 2012, I remember taking out my DVD of ‘Top Gun’ and watching it as a tribute to the man who fueled my teenage dreams of wanting to become a fighter pilot.For a long time , I wore a silver bracelet with ‘Maverick’ inscribed on it 🙂

It was a treat to experience the brilliant 3D effect in ‘Exodus’. We unfortunately had tickets very close to the screen.But that just magnified and enhanced the feel of having the utterly gorgeous Christian Bale almost breathing down your neck.Ahem! Hubba Hubba,guys 😀 I wouldn’t want to compare it with the epic ‘The Ten Commandments’ by Ceclle B. De Mille.Both have been made in different time wraps.But yes, I missed Yul Bryner as Ramses II.He had portrayed the character more brilliantly.

What reverberates and resonates within me about this timeless tale is that of the power of faith. Faith , they say , can move mountains. Moses had only faith on his side. You don’t really need anything else, actually.But that faith has got to be absolute.So, J.M Barrie says in “The Little White Birds’ “The reason birds can fly and we can’t is simply because they have perfect faith, for to have faith is to have wings.” Or look at Hafiz says “And still, after all this time, the Sun has never said to the Earth,”You owe me.”Look what happens with love like that.It lights up the sky.”

While I was watching the movie, at the climax scene of the sea parting , I was struck with the thought that nothing really happens or can happen without God’s grace.It is what all religions and all faiths teach us.I was reminded of  my paternal grandfather teaching me these lines in Sanskrit.

“Mookam Karoti Vachalam
Pangum Langhayate Girim
Yatkripa Tamaham Vande
Paramananda Madhavam”

Translation “I salute that Madhava,
The source of Supreme Bliss,
Whose Grace makes the dumb man eloquent
And the cripple cross mountains”

Faith leads me to Joshua, who was Moses’ second in command and who takes over and leads the Israelites into the Promised Land after Moses’ death. Joshua is considered one of the Bible’s greatest military leaders for leading the seven-year conquest of the Promised Land. The meaning of “Joshua ” is ‘God Rescues’. I had a beautiful Boxer dog who I had named Joshua. I guess God rescued me many a times  from despair and negativity through him.  Joshua is no more.He lived a grand life and passed away in 2009 at the age of fourteen.This is him:

31766_386191718715_7411688_n       31766_386191723715_7287859_n

Its Christmas eve.The accidentals sufi wishes all of you a very “Merry Christmas’ and tells you to say to Him ” I know now, Lord, why you utter no answer. You are yourself the answer. Before your face questions die away. What other answer would suffice?”( CS Lewis)

I will say au revoir with a very favorite song from “The Joshua Tree’ album by U2.Its called ‘where the streets have no name’.That’s where the accidental sufi roams wih only her faith 🙂 http://youtu.be/uY7LemSwe7s

2 thoughts on “Faith Can Move Mountains

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

