Januray 1st, 2015

Hiya folks!  Dr Seuss says “You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams”. And so after a disgustingly long chat with my guy in London ( with my sister theatrically rolling   her eyes & face-palming)  and him telling me “You are my best friend as well as my love(r), and I do not know which side of you I enjoy the most. I treasure each side, just as I have treasured/treasure/will treasure our life together”, I really couldn’t sleep on New Year’s Eve night 🙂

Which made me call up my parents uncharacteristically at 5 am, not the daily 8am, this morning.My Dad was surprised and boomed adorably ‘Well, well someone is changing in the New Year”. My Ma told me “Stay strong.Stay happy.Stay stylish”. How ‘her’, I thought.That’s what my fabulous-truly-woman-of-substance  Ma is. The love and warmth in their voices was also tinged  with a yearning….because their children were not with them ( my sister is visiting me in  New Delhi).  And I was reminded of the old age home I support.Especially, the twelve senior citizens who stay together on the first floor, with whom I have a special bonding.They are six Dads and six Moms. But their grown up, successful,married etc children are all abroad….after selling off the family property and each getting their share.The parents were shifted into the old age home.All comforts have been provided.Except that, the children rarely call…or visit. Well, I had bought woolen mufflers for all of them as a New Year’s gift.But then I decided in the morning to do something more personal,more caring. I made 12 cheese and mushroom omelets, packed it in a huge casserole  and rushed to give it to them. My local bakery chap, Tanveer, was a real sport! He happily agreed to provide me sweet buns at 6.30 am, got ginger laced ‘masala’ tea made as well  and went with me to the home  to help! 🙂 God Bless him!

Sadly, I had to go for work.And my day there started with a huge lie.I suffer from acute OCD and hate shaking hands with people. Majority of my colleagues are men…you know, I imagine that most of them have done something terrible with their hands.I have seen many doing un-speakable things too.(YIKES). Their New Year spirit translates to all of them shaking hands with me enthusiastically. Some hold my hand a little longer than necessary;but that’s a story for another day!So I had tied a crepe bandage on my right hand  to ward off the necessary evil of handshakes 😀 Told everyone that I have sprained my wrist.I have a very pair of lovely, sequined gloves which I could have worn alternately.Hmmm..but I would probably need to have had it  disinfected with a pesticide 😀

At work, I heard the protocol and administration chap taxing his brains about the bouquets that have to be given.The very important people were to be given ‘table’ bouquets; ‘naaarmal’ ( normal) bouquets for the not so important. I asked him what is a normal bouquet? He told me that its one which is not kept on a table! Umm..what logic! I again asked him whether there is an abnormal bouquet too? He glared at me. I let matters rest.

The whole day I was harassed with the bulk  New Year messages that beeped on my mobile.Divine retribution, I think,because yesterday I was guilty of sending them too 😀 But it just struck me that we hardly send greeting cards in the holiday season anymore! They were such an essential part when I was a kid.Choosing the cards were such a great joy!And we would write them to our near and dear ones in the finest handwriting.I always wrote in red ink 🙂 There was a warmth, a personal touch in these cards as compared to the impersonal- text-sent-to-many of today.

In the evening, I went to the local animal shelter with biscuits and milk for those beautiful animals there.It gladdened me that there were many people who had come to show their love and support.But as always,my heart cried out at the wistfulness and hope in each of the animal’s eyes….wanting to be loved and have a home.Just strengthened my resolve that I would do whatever is in my power to help them.It is the accidental sufi’s calling.

The day has almost come to an end.It flew by very quickly.It was a mix of happiness and sadness. I was happy because I am secure in the love of my family,my guy and my close friends.I have the choice to be what I truly am.I am healthy.I am not hungry.But,there are so many who live lives of neglect and want, abuse and abandonment.There are so many who live without love. So JK Rowling says “Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and, above all those who live without love”( Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows).

Compassion.Empathy.Love. I hope 2015 sees more of these feelings globally.

I shall sign off here as I have to go out for coffee and cake with my insanely lovely friends soon. I shall wear my new red woolen muffler and cap 🙂

A song for all of you. Its a favorite of my guy’s.He says its very me 😀 Here: http://youtu.be/95kCv10duFw

Peace & Love!

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

