Go Green

“Something will have gone out of us as a people if we ever let the remaining wilderness be destroyed; if we permit the last virgin forests to be turned into comic books and plastic cigarette cases; if we drive the few remaining members of the wild species into zoos or to extinction; if we pollute the last clear air and dirty the last clean streams and push our paved roads through the last of the silence …..”(Wallace Stegner ‘The Sound Of Mountain Water’)

The diary that I am going to use in 2015 is made from recycled paper. It says ‘Go Green” and is eco-friendly. For I guess to make big changes in the world, we have to begin within ourselves.Just my two cents for this planet which I love. What shall I write in it? ‘A positive quote everyday’ suggested a rather boring senior colleague hopefully, who believes that I am irretrievably doomed and so  drives me nuts every damn day with his preachiness  I am going to write cool stuff in this. Cool is euphemism for hot 😀 So Oscar Wilde says “I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train” 🙂

green 1

I also got a very lovely greeting card from a colleague. It reads ‘May the sparrows chirp again in our homes each day of the year’. We really don’t see the sparrows any more these days! You and I have grown up with sparrows, haven’t we? Don’t we miss their chatter? March 20th is celebrated as ‘World Sparrow Day’It is an international initiative by the Nature Forever Society of India in collaboration with the Eco-Sys Action Foundation (France) and numerous other national and international organizations across the world.

green 2

I am reminded of the  ‘grand lord of Gothic lushness’ ( NME) Nick Cave”s song. The lyrics go:”And she moves among the sparrows. And she floats upon the breeze. She moves among the flowers. She moves something deep inside of me”.http://youtu.be/JquzYr-5bE4

I love sparrows….and Captain Jack Sparrow 😀

images

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

