The Bell Jar & Belzhar

I was reading an article by Meg Wolitzer, ‘Young Adult at Heart” in ‘The Culture/Books’ section of Times Asia magazine( Vol.185,No. I 2015).

She talks about her latest book ‘Belzhar’.

And has me intrigued.Not about the book, which  targets the ‘young adult’ audience, and certainly seems to be very promising. But about why she chose to base it on Sylvia Plath’s ‘The Bell Jar”. Like her, the first time I read this as a teenager, it was also an emotional and chaotic experience. Wolitzer says when she re-read Path for research, apart from the angst, despair and alienation that pours out of the work, she responded to the woman Plath would never become…. ( Plath committed suicide at 30 years of age ) ..” the writer who would never continue to  mature with age.The mother who would never see her children off into the world.The person who wouldn’t have the chance to live a long life”. It was eerie reading this because I have always wondered what path Plath would have taken, what would she have become, had she not , so tragically , let go. Wolitzer ends with “There are quite a few of us former teenagers-women in the middle of their lives( and possibly some men, for sure)-who have never forgotten what it felt  like to read ‘The Bell Jar’ for the first time. So what are we supposed to do with all that left over feeling ? Me ? I decided to write a book”. (http://time.com/3655035/meg-wolitzer-sylvia-plath/)

I haven’t read any of Meg Wolitzer’s books till date. I plan to start off with ‘Belzhar’.

That leftover feeling  is till so dominant in the accidental sufi because   “I can never read all the books I want; I can never be all the people I want and live all the lives I want. I can never train myself in all the skills I want. And why do I want? I want to live and feel all the shades, tones and variations of mental and physical experience possible in life. And I am horribly limited.” ( The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath)

Have a great weekend, guys 🙂

Break the chains….

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

