Phenomenal Woman: Down With Size Zero

 It started last year with fashion headlines screaming that Calvin Klein has a plus-sized model for its ‘perfectly fit underwear’ range. The model in news was Myla Dalbesio. She is  a size 10 and women were appalled and incredulous at what constitutes a ‘plus ‘ size. WTF’s flew globally! Of course she definitely was a change from Klein favorite Kate Moss and in all fairness to the fashion house, apparently it was the model, in Elle magazine , talking about plus-size modeling, and the problems with being neither a super-skinny girl nor a really big one.

However, now in the highly anticipated ‘Sports Illustrated’ issue ( reportedly reaches 70 million people annually and more men , 18-34, than Superbowl) due to hit the stands on February 9th, plus sized model Ashley Graham, is all set to shred distorted body imaging . It is part of a campaign that heralds that curves are in , especially in bikinis. It is aimed at women to feel confident and sexy in any swimsuit.

640_curvesinbikinis_swimsuitsforall

Read about it here and watch the video : http://www.etonline.com/news/159150_ashley_graham_rocks_tiny_bikini_sports_illustrated_swimsuit_ad/

I smiled when I saw it and was reminded of Maya Angelou’s lovely poem ” Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women” )

” Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.
Then they swarm around me,
A hive of honey bees.
I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Men themselves have wondered
What they see in me.
They try so much
But they can’t touch
My inner mystery.
When I try to show them
They say they still can’t see.
I say,
It’s in the arch of my back,
The sun of my smile,
The ride of my breasts,
The grace of my style.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need of my care,
‘Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.”

2 thoughts on “Phenomenal Woman: Down With Size Zero

  1. I don’t think that ads like that are aimed at women to feel confident and sexy in any swimsuit. I think they’re just meant to open men’s eyes to a broader (hah!) range of female sexual exploitation. So now even more women can be reduced to sexual objects.

    • Hiya Lif 🙂 I will disagree 🙂 It does convey the message that being skinny ( and thus anorexic & possibly bulimic) is not sexy. When do men need to be reminded or nudged to ahem ‘open their eyes’ ? 😀 I know there is this huge debate & discussion about using women in advertisements & thus treating them as sexual objects. Somehow I don’t buy it 🙂 The same can be said of gorgeous male models too.But, that’s besides the point. There is nothing to be apologetic about one’s sexuality.Just as there is nothing to be apologetic about one’s intelligence. Both are desirable traits in humans.If anyone responds more to beauty or sexuality, they shouldn’t be condemned. My guy responds to both my mind & body.I’d be insulted if he ignored the latter 😀 What is essential that a person should be able to live without fear, restraint, obligation, non ? 🙂

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

