So Many Books, So Little Time

Barnes & Nobles talk about an ‘ultimate book nerd score ‘ system here :http://www.barnesandnoble.com/blog/feature/whats-your-book-nerd-score/

I took the test and had an embarrassingly high score. I say ’embarrassingly’ because I remember all the resigned, judgmental, irritated ,nasty, weird, etc looks I get from many friends and some un-suspecting acquaintances/strangers , when I rattle off on my favorites subject :books. The other two favorites, of course, are music and my beloved, beloved animals which, I am getting an uncomfortable feeling now, also possibly makes people want to  run a million miles  away 😀

 Well, okay back to the score system and I am picking out just a few, which I answered in the affirmative.And felt really good about the suggestions because somewhere out in this whole wide world, there are people like me 🙂 High-five, bloggers, in case you are one!

You’ve sat in a bathtub full of tepid water with prune-y skin because you were engrossed in a book.

Has happened to me many a times. Bathtubs are great places to read. Many wouldn’t agree to this and I can hear bibliophiles gasping! I guess I read in the tub because I de-stress soaking in warm, scented ( I mainly use perfume in the water, rather than bath oil, and Dead Sea Salt )water…the pleasure of reading, say Neruda, just enhances the whole experience. Very Anne Sexton, I know 🙂 “How are you? How is your wonderful bathroom? How are the books you read and the things you think? Your dogs and their lives? The weather? Your feelings?” ( Anne Sexton, ”A Self-Portrait in Letters) Oh, I have never dropped a book in the tub, till date 🙂

You’ve cried in public while reading a book (it’s okay, we won’t tell).

A very senior citizen gentleman gently patted my head when I was crying while reading ‘The Book Thief’, by Markus Zusak. I was having lunch alone in the ‘United Coffee House’, in Connaught Place, New Delhi. Great restaurant by the way and with fabulous reviews in the Lonely Planet.Told me he wished the author could have seen this 🙂 ( https://www.zomato.com/ncr/united-coffee-house-connaught-place-delhi )

You gave your pet a literary name.

Ummm..dogs called Rousseau, Rupert of Hentzau, Neo, a rabbit called Thomas Hobbes, cats called Nabokov, Tom Sawyer, Zorba the Greek,Machiavelli, a donkey called Socrates,homing pigeons called Scarlett,Mr Darcy, Shakuntala,Miss Marple, Sherlock,Virginia Woolf, a rooster called Atticus Finch, a tortoise called Maxim de Winter.

You make literary references and puns nobody else understands.

Hissed under my breath, ‘Screw it” and then said loudly ‘I am going to Narnia”. My boss smiled benevolently and told me ‘Yes, of course. Apply for leave”. Arrghhh…

BONUS POINTS: For every friend who sent you this quiz (because they know you’re a huge book nerd), add one point.

Quiz was sent to me by my guy ! He saves me from irretrievable nerd-ism.I mean something like me being totally kicked about holding hands with him in bed and reading ‘Ulysses’ together ? Well, uh-uh, he has such other totally blissful ideas about what he & I should be doing instead 😀 .  Oh, yeah, did I tell you that I use his and my copies of  ‘Infinite Jest’ for my weights training ? My guy shakes his head at me..aah, I tell him “With you, intimacy colours my voice…even ‘hello’ sounds like ‘come here’ ( Warsan Shire)

Take the quiz, guys and see how ya’ll score. Meanwhile, I am a tad worried about the imagery and thinking about ‘books’ and  ‘reading books’  😀 Watch!

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

