Feminism and Nail Polish

Colorbar_103DuskyMauve

This is not my photograph; not my finger and nail too.Its a photograph from the Internet.

February had been rough on the work front. I had been working late hours and weekends. I had been snappy with those I love. I was working today too since early morning with a very just a brick-in-the-wall feeling.

And then it rained. Long and glorious.Work came to a standstill.Everyone left for home.

Me too. Suddenly, I felt like buying a new nail polish . I don’t know why!

Actually, I do.The rains always  remind me of the Beloved who paints my nails beautifully.

So I bought this nail paint today.It is Colorbar’s Dusky Mauve 103. And I have also shaped my nails the same. I think my hands look nice 🙂

  I also bought a kick-ass red lipstick. A female friend and colleague was with me. We go back around 17 years. She told me that when she had first met me, she couldn’t quite categorize me,slot me. She comes from a very conservative background where wearing make-up was frowned upon. It was a sign of frivolousness and being dumb.  Good girls were supposed to concentrate on studies and prescribed books.  I had told her then that ” For I conclude that the enemy is not lipstick, but guilt itself; that we deserve lipstick, if we want it, AND free speech; we deserve to be sexual AND serious–or whatever we please; we are entitled to wear cowboy boots to our own revolution.” ( Naomi Woolf)  ‘Are you a feminist?”,  she had asked me. Very truthfully I had told her “I myself have never been able to find out precisely what feminism is: I only know that people call me a feminist whenever I express sentiments that differentiate me from a doormat.” ( Rebecca West)

 I am a woman. I wouldn’t change this for anything.

I guess, truly glorifying in my femaleness ,also flows from my guy. Because “When you find a guy who calls you beautiful instead of hot, who calls you back when you hang up on him, who will stand in front of you when other’s cast stones, or will stay awake just to watch you sleep, who wants to show you off to the world when you are in sweats, who will hold your hand when your sick, who thinks your pretty without makeup, the one who turns to his friends and say, ‘that’s her’, the one that would bear your rejection because losing you means losing his will to live, who kisses you when you screw up, watches the stars and names one for you …..”, everything just falls into place. Just the way it was meant to be.

Here’s to make-up & Tolstoy! Both are not mutually exclusive 🙂

And here is a song that gladdens my heart all the time 🙂 Lennon had sung it for Yoko.

2 thoughts on “Feminism and Nail Polish

    • Thank you 🙂 I just did! I haven’t gone in depth into it, which I shall soon. But you want to live life beautifully….and that’s what has got me interested. Cheers 🙂

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

