Problems With ‘Rubaiyat”

ap1qsmrubyebaycu

“A book of verses underneath the bough
A flask of wine, a loaf of bread and thou
Beside me singing in the wilderness
And wilderness is paradise now ” ( Omar Khayyam,’Rubaiyat’)

While the above is most romantic and  most lovely, it has caused immense chaos  😀

Read,please.

Only the ‘thou’ is agreed upon by me and the beloved who is currently here with me 😀

Contentious issues:

1. Which book of verses ? I am all for Pablo Neruda’s ‘Twenty Love Poems & A Song Of Despair”. The man asks me whether in this modern age, ‘book of verses’ can be substituted with any Sports channel , which apparently, both, can watch while holding hands? Arrgh.

2. I am very Marie-Antoinette,guys. I would much prefer cake to ‘loaf of bread’! The man roots for  museli bread! With ‘Marmite’ ( UGH), he says hopefully! Arrgh, bloody, arrgh! Did I tell you that he once poured boiling water into a near empty ‘Marmite’ jar and drank the jar clean ? Someone get me smelling salts please!

3. The greatest issue is ‘flask of wine’. The man turns totally aggressive now. “Glenmorangie , Macallan, Laphroaig,Glenkinchie,blah blah blah blah “, the Scott in him roars. ‘Rose sherbet’, I demur. ‘Or maybe a choco malt shake ? The malt is there, non ?’.

4. That gets us to ‘singing’. Please, I hate men singing. Leave that to Robert Plant or Ronnie Dio! The man says ‘Baby, when are you going to sing this ?”. I am livid with his choice. Male Chauvinistic Pig! Jeez, I am a ninja warrior! I can’t sing this, now, can I ?

Thus, love and life go on 🙂

2 thoughts on “Problems With ‘Rubaiyat”

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

