The eyes of others our prisons; their thoughts our cages (Virginia Woolf)

“What do you fear, lady?” [Aragorn] asked.

“A cage,” [Éowyn] said. “To stay behind bars, until use and old age accept them, and all chance of doing great deeds is gone beyond recall or desire”. ( Tolkien, ‘ The Return Of the King’)

With this, I am going to blog about an actor, who I admire tremendously for refusing to be in a ‘cage’. A metaphorical cage of course, but one which didn’t see ‘use’ or be compromised by ‘old age’.

Sharon Stone.

Few of us can forget the 1990’s movie ‘Basic Instinct’. I was in college when the movie hit theaters world wide. Everyone talked in hushed whispers about ‘the interrogation scene’ where the actor uncrosses her legs and bares all. Nudity in films was/is not new. But the arrogance and power with which Sharon Stone portrayed femaleness has been un-matched till date.

Her tremendous acting aside,  she attributes her sexiness to being intelligent. ‘I was a bookworm. I used my intelligence to be sexy’, says she. (http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/profiles/sharon-stone-interview-i-was-a-bookwormi-used-my-intelligence-to-be-sexy-9338267.html) There goes all those innumerable stories and jokes about dumb blondes!

What also hits you about her is her guts.She suffered a brain hemorrhage in 2001. But that hasn’t deterred her from doing ‘great deeds’.”I was in that neurological ward and the guy across from me died while I was in there, I watched it happen, and you know firsthand what that’s like. There is no greater lesson about the meaning of life than that,” she says. “When I see people who are mean, who do those kinds of pointless activities, I just have to shake my head and move forward.” (http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/people/2014/02/18/sharon-stone-cover-shape/5554069/)

How poignantly and eloquently she talks about aging , relishing every second of it. “Because I faced the very real possibility of not getting old, that is when getting old became a thing of tremendous gratitude for me. I have such gratitude for my age. Getting older is my goal. As it should be for every right-minded person,” she says.So Shakespeare says “With mirth and laughter let old wrinkles come.”

Overcoming great odds to live life large and on one’s own terms.Now that is something which the accidental sufi salutes 🙂

Here’s to the burning down of any type of ‘cage’!

Here’s something to make you all smile 🙂

60df4aa2ccc3dede9421d9a7a7077c1a

Here’s something to rock out to 🙂

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

