Voices

 A deep, visceral connect with / to music perhaps  makes me very sensitive to a person’s voice. The cadence , timbre of a person’s  voice is a  crucial indicator for me in establishing or not establishing any sort of connection with them. The voice gives a whole lot of information about the person and their take on life.It is not a  definitive indicator, ofcourse.There are others like the eyes, the smile, the handshake etc. But I have experienced that,when one has a sensual connection to a voice, a little hair rising on the back of your neck, that’s when everything is hubba , hubba  and glorious 🙂 Oh yes, alongwith the voice, I am very partial to the words a person chooses! Words without a voice and a voice without words are equally ridiculous to me!In the Indian context , imagine Gulzar sahab  not saying “tum agaye ho noor agaya hain,nahin to charagon se lau jarahi thi jeene ki tumse wajah mil gayi hain,badi bewajah zindagi jarahi thi ‘ but “Tumse milne ka keeda andar hai,Dating kar le tu open calendar hai” :D.  Or imagine Ronnie James Dio  singing Bieber’s lyrics!

Well this post is all about certain fresh  voices in popular music of today in India,  that I like. I have grown up listening to mainstream and hugely popular singers like  Kishore Kumar, Mohd Rafi, Manna Dey, Hemant Kumar,Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhonsle. I am very partial to Kishore Kumar, but I absolutely adore Shailendra’s voice too! My favorite is Asha Bhonsle but then can I forget the lilting sweetness and vivacity of  Geeta Dutt’s voice ?

So here are some voices which ‘speak ‘ to me and my favorite numbers by them 🙂

1. Mohit Chauhan : Freedom in his voice, somewhat like the legendary Bhupen Hazarika.

2. KK: Smooth, suave voice.

3. Zubin : Manages to convey the feelings in the lyrics effortlessly via his voice.

4. Benny Dayal: Peppy and totally mast voice!

5. Kanika Kapoor: Powerful voice! Raw and exciting!

 When I was very young, I heard the song below, one fine day on the radio. I was transfixed by the woman’s voice. Earthy, sensuous. Forming the back bone, in just a few lines, of this song, I feel. Years later, I found out that her name is Sharda (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sharda_Rajan_Iyengar )

I will sign off with that song 🙂 Happy Sunday, guys. Did I tell you that my guy has such a  wonderful voice that when we speak, I tend to forget Jimmy Page ? 😀 Or is it “When you love someone, you say their name different. Like it’s safe inside your mouth” ( Jodi Picoult)  🙂

2 thoughts on “Voices

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

