She Is Whiskey In A Teacup

 When  ‘Sephora’ opened shop in New Delhi, I cheered. For I was reminded of a beautiful memory. It was in  August 2010, in   the ‘Sephora’s’ flagship store in Champs-Élysées, Paris. The beloved was buying me perfume while the pretty sales girl at the counter smiled indulgently. He picked up Guerlain’s ‘Samsara’ and checked the fragrance on  the habitual  strip of paper. He then gently rubbed the perfume on the nape of my neck and while inhaling the fragrance said  ‘  I need to see how the perfume smells on you ‘. The sales girl’s smile turned envious . My knees went all weak and I possibly have never felt so beautiful, so loved and so womanly like I did at that moment. But then, Adi taught me a very important lesson. That a fragrance needs to be personal .

Walking through the ‘Sephora’ store in the Select City Mall in South Delhi, I came across the fragrance range by the  perfumier ‘Commodity’. I had never used the perfumes made by them and was intrigued with the bottles that said ” Whiskey”, ‘Gin”, ‘Tea”, ‘Mimosa” etc. The bottles were very simple and elegant.

l_4805_whiskey-cologne

 Googling ‘Commodity’ on my smartphone led me to their site :https://www.commoditygoods.com/ . I was floored with their statement ” Our mission is to make fragrance personal’ ! I picked up ‘Whiskey’, which is has a warm and woody fragrance, for Adi and ‘Tea’ for myself , which is very fresh and spunky as it has citrus and bergamot as its main notes. An interesting tagline says of the perfumes that  ‘you can either have it neat or mix a cocktail’ 🙂

Adi loves whiskey , while I love tea.  But I love a cocktail he makes of both, whiskey and tea, for me. Its a pretty recent invention of his! Here:

 I wine glass  The Yamazaki Single Malt Whiskey from Japan
2 wineglasses of  hot fragrant Earl Grey tea
3 heaped  teaspoons of  raw honey,orange rind, nutmeg

 The honey needs to be dissolved in the tea, whiskey added, and garnished with orange rind and a dash of nutmeg. It is served warm  and infuses you with gladness!

When I first had this on a cold January night here in New Delhi, Tom Waits sang on the gramophone. The vinly spun out that characteristic growl which sounds like “it was soaked in a vat of bourbon, left hanging in the smokehouse for a few months, and then taken outside and run over with a car.”(Daniel Durchholz). I smiled at the lyrics of one of Adi’s favorite song :

“She’s my Black Market Baby
She’s a diamond that
Wants to stay coal
I swang out wide with her
On hells iron gate
Anything that you wanted
You could have
My eyes say their prayers to her
There’s no prayer like desire
There’s amnesia in her kiss
She’s a swan and a pistol
She’s whiskey in a teacup
She gives blondes a lousy name
She’s a Bonzai Aphrodite
And a ticket back to Spain
She’s a hard way to go
And there ain’t no way
To stop
She’s my Black Market baby ‘

Oh yes, I keep reading ‘I would rather be someone’s shot of whiskey than cup of tea”. Me ? I am, both, for the beloved and in the age of reversible’s, whiskey in a tea cup as well as tea in a decanter.

Over and out,guys.

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

