Standing On The Edge

These are five things which trouble/d me greatly, in no particular order:

  1. Signage in AIIMS ( All India Institute of Medical Sciences) New Delhi, that a doctor cannot examine a female patient without the presence of a lady nurse. I guess this is would be a universal signage in all hospitals. So we accept the fact that a sick, suffering woman can be taken advantage of by a doctor…the one she has come to for help.
  2. Sometime back in the family court here at Saket, New Delhi, the custody of a 9 year old girl was given to her mother, in an acrimonious divorce case. I can’t forget the little girl’s tears as well as her father’s. They clung to each other before saying goodbye. Men cry too…fathers feel as much as mothers.
  3. A stray dog had given birth to 11 puppies in my neighborhood. Early morning screams of the dog made me rush to the place.Some teenage boys were trying to take the pups away.The mother fought back valiantly, grievously injured, as they beat her with a rod. The boys laughed. I saw in them, the makings of  perhaps future serial killers, rapists, pedophiles.
  4. I was a kid and going to school in the morning. I had to cross a club where marriage receptions and parties were held. The large dustbins were overflowing with thermocol plates and wasted food. The stench was unbearable. Two young men, hardly 18 years old, were scrounging for food from the bins. One of them smiled in happiness when he found a  tandoori chicken leg piece.
  5. There is a happily married couple I know with two sons. Everyday, he wishes that he was with the woman he loves. But,everyday he returns for dinner, unfailingly, with his family. His wife knows about his wish and also the woman.But, she  makes and serves him hot food everyday for dinner.

So Robert Frost tells me “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”

 But Dumbledore admonishes me calmly as he does Harry Potter : “I DON’T CARE!” Harry yelled at them, snatching up a lunascope and throwing it into the fireplace. “I’VE HAD ENOUGH, I’VE SEEN ENOUGH, I WANT OUT, I WANT IT TO END, I DON’T CARE ANYMORE!”
“You do care,” said Dumbledore. He had not flinched or made a single move to stop Harry demolishing his office. His expression was calm, almost detached. “You care so much you feel as though you will bleed to death with the pain of it.”

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

