The Nobel Lit 2015

 The Nobel prize for Literature, 2015 has gone to Svetlana Alexievich, a Belarusian writer.The Swedish Academy, announcing her win, praised Alexievich’s “polyphonic writings”, describing them as a “monument to suffering and courage in our time”

I haven’t read a word that she has written.  Thus, I am incapacitated to :  ( 1) enthusiastically applaud, ( 2) hysterically  denounce  ( 3) give a ‘don’t care’ /très très  superior shoulder shrug about the Academy’s choice.

From what I gather about her, here is a woman who spoke out fearlessly against oppression and dictatorship.  I like her . Reaction:* Enthusiastically Applauds*

From what I gather from ‘knowledgeable’ people around the globe, ‘non-fiction’ is not/cannot/should not be considered  literature. Really ?  Reaction:* Hysterically Denounces*

From what I gather about your ‘misses’/all those names you missed out, hey Swedish Academy? Four in particular? Vladimir Nabokov, Virginia Woolf, James Joyce and Jorge Luis Borges. Damn you! That doesn’t take way their greatness. Reaction:*Gives a ‘don’t care’ /très très  superior shoulder shrug”.

 Two short letters from the accidental sufi :

Dear Haruki Murakami, continue to rock!

I once had a boy, or should I say, he once had me…
He showed me his room, isn’t it good, norwegian wood?
He asked me to stay and he told me to sit anywhere,
So I looked around and I noticed there wasn’t a chair.
I sat on a rug, biding my time, drinking his wine
We talked until two and then he said, “It’s time for bed”
He told me he worked in the morning and started to laugh.
I told him I didn’t and crawled off to sleep in the bath
And when I awoke, I was alone, this bird had flown
So I lit a fire, isn’t it good, norwegian wood.

Dear Milan Kundera,thank you!You made me laugh and forget.The lightness of my being is so bearable.

Everybody just chill about poor ole Alfred Nobel, right ?  We hound him every year!

Here, this helps 🙂

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

