The New Trudeaumania

 I guess one will see a repeat of ‘Trudeaumania’ all over again, with Justin Trudeau, leading  Canada’s Liberal Party to a decisive victory in the  general election 2015, ending nearly a decade of Conservative rule.

Print media and social networking sites have gone berserk with teeny-weeny itsy-bitsy details about the new Prime Minister of Canada. That  he is young at  only 43 years of age  and  extremely good looking have undoubtedly added to the gush about him. So we have news items like ”Is Canada’s new PM the only world leader with a tattoo?”. During the campaign, there was much discussion/debate  about Trudeau’s long, tousled mop of hair with opponents insinuating that this might be an indication of ‘non-seriousness”.

But what has caught my attention in all this excitement of Canadians opting for change  is the references to the parents of Justin Trudeau. While I pored over the images on the Internet about his mother, the beautiful Margaret Trudeau, supposedly a ‘flower-child’ when she got married, I was fascinated to read and discover gems about his father, the late former Canadian Prime Minister, Pierre Elliott Trudeau.

 Elle magazine describes Pierre Trudeau as “a charismatic, sexy intellectual in an era when intellectuals were sexy and charismatic”.  I nod my head in agreement when I find that he wrote an essay, ”Exhaustion and Fulfillment: The Ascetic in a Canoe”,for a Canadian canoeing magazine, ‘Che-Mun” ( Read it here:http://www.canoe.ca/che-mun/102trudeau.html )

 In 1977,when Prime Minister Trudeau was asked about his wife, wildly partying at Studio 54 with Mick Jagger of the Rolling Stones, he shrugged and said, “So a lady goes to a rock concert, and then she goes to New York to visit friends and do some photography.” (Margaret Trudeau was a photographer.) Then he said, “If she loses me a couple of votes because of that…well, that would be too bad, and I would not want to do anything about it”. All I can say is ‘Bravo”!

This man was all about tolerance. Fighting for the decriminalization of homosexuality, he succinctly had stated in the  Canadian House of Commons in 1967 that ‘ L’État n’a pas d’affaires dans les chambres à coucher de la nation’.   (There’s no place for the state in the bedrooms of the nation).

Pierre Elliot Trudeau was pretty kick-ass too! He retaliated when a protester heckled and threw wheat at him, during a speech in Regina ( 17th July, 1969) with “If you want to see me again, don’t bring signs saying “Trudeau is a pig” and don’t bring signs that he hustles women, because I won’t talk to you. I didn’t get into politics to be insulted. And don’t throw wheat at me either. If you don’t stop that, I’ll kick you right in the ass”. Somehow that speaks of a very deep  honesty, integrity and courage, coursing through his veins.

My personal favorite has got to be Papa Trudeau telling an opposition MP in the House of Commons (16 February 1971), as quoted in Trudeau in Power (1971) by Walter Stewart, to ‘Fuck Off”. Later on, he clarified tongue-in-cheek “Oh, I don’t know…fuddle-duddle or something like that”. Since then, ‘fuddle-duddle’ became Canadian slang for ‘Fuck off’. I am, from today going to use this with great pleasure in polite company as well as at work, confident that people in my circle are unaware of this brilliant Trudeauism! Why, they might just think that I have turned ever so polite,non ?

It was John Lennon who had said ‘If all politicians were like Mr. Trudeau, there would be world peace”. I really hope that the same will be said of Justin Trudeau too.

By the way, I have come across some great people with long hair , tattoos and  riding motorcycles  Much better than the ones with short hair and regular trips to temples and churches etc. Don’t believe me ? Well, check this out, then 🙂   https://www.facebook.com/Bikers-Against-Animal-Abuse-Neglect-335339449940753/info/?tab=page_info

Hasta la vista , guys. But not without a song, hell no!  A favorite by Englebert Humperdinck, then.

Hiya :) Leave a Reply!

